Both kits treat the outside of the lens and both end with a protective finish — they differ in how you get there. Every figure below comes from the manufacturer instructions or the retail listing we observed on the stated date; prices move, so check the current retailer page before ordering.
The wipe-applied ceramic route — the shorter process if you are doing one lens and want the coating step included.
The only kit of the two that claims both lenses in writing — the arithmetic works out to about $11.38 per lens at the observed price.
How we compared
- Published process and contents — from each manufacturer’s own instructions and the retail listing.
- Stated coverage — counted only where the listing states it in writing.
- Observed price on the stated date, plus simple per-lens arithmetic where coverage allows.
- Durability wording, read as a claim to check — not a measured result.
- Not compared: hands-on performance. We have not applied either kit to a headlight.
| Check | CERAKOTE | SYLVANIA |
|---|---|---|
| Published process | Wipe-applied: oxidation removal, then sanding, then a ceramic protective coating. Manufacturer states no power tools are required. | Hand wet sanding through 400/1000/2000 grit papers, then clarifying compound and a UV block clear coat. Listing states no tools needed. |
| In the box | 10 wipes: oxidation-removal wipes, sanding materials, ceramic coating wipes. | Surface activator, three grit stages of sandpaper, clarifying compound, UV block clear coat. |
| Stated lens coverage | Not stated in the listing we observed — check the instruction sheet before assuming one kit covers both lenses. | Stated to repair two headlight lenses. |
| Observed price | $17.95 (observed November 3, 2026). | $22.75 (observed November 4, 2026). |
| Cost arithmetic | Per-lens cost cannot be computed from the observed listing because coverage is not stated. | About $11.38 per lens if both lenses are treated ($22.75 ÷ 2). Simple arithmetic on the observed price — not a price prediction. |
| Durability claim | Manufacturer describes a ceramic protective coating; read the care conditions behind the claim. | Listing describes a durable UV block clear coat; the instruction sheet defines the care window. |
| Watch out for | Extra supplies named in the instructions (water, clean towels). | Third-party seller observed on the listing; confirm the seller and current contents at checkout. |
| Current listing | Check on Amazon | Check on Amazon |
If stated two-lens coverage matters to your budget math, SYLVANIA is the one with the claim in writing. If you want the fewest steps on a single lens, CERAKOTE’s wipe process is the shorter route. We have not tested either kit — read both instruction sheets before you choose.
Common questions
Is this comparison based on testing?
No. Every row comes from the manufacturers’ own instructions and the retail listings observed on the stated dates. We have not applied either kit to a headlight, so nothing here should be read as a measured performance result.
Why show prices if they change?
An observed price with a date is checkable: you can hold it against the current retailer page and see the movement. Every price is labelled with its observation date and re-checked when the page is revised — the retailer page, not this guide, is the offer.
Which kit lasts longer?
Neither maker publishes a durability figure the two of us can verify side by side: CERAKOTE describes a ceramic coating and SYLVANIA a UV block clear coat. Read both care windows — and if you have applied either kit, your own lens is the only test result we will point to.
Why you can check this comparison
Written by Kane Lee, who has kept up his own cars for seven years — background that picks the topics, never a substitute for testing. Every number above traces to the dated observation or the linked instruction sheet; where coverage or durability is not stated in writing, the table says so instead of guessing.
Sources & research notes
Prices and availability were observed on the dates stated and change without notice — the retailer page is the current offer. This comparison uses published instructions and listing facts; we have not tested either kit.
- CERAKOTE: headlight restoration instructions
- SYLVANIA: headlight restoration kit installation guide
- CERAKOTE kit listing (observed November 3, 2026)
- SYLVANIA kit listing (observed November 4, 2026)